Connect with us

Chicago Dogs

MLB Announces New Partner Leagues

Major League Baseball has added three independent leagues as “Partner Leagues.”

MLB Partner Leagues
Photo: MLB

MLB has announced that three independent baseball leagues are now officially “Partner Leagues.” Those leagues are the Atlantic League of Professional Baseball (ALPB), the Frontier League (FL), and the American Association of Professional Baseball (AA).

Previously, the ALPB was used to test an automated strike zone, pitch clocks, and even the extra-innings runner on second base rule, so that will likely be expanded across the three leagues.

It is hard not to be extra concerned about the future of Minor League Baseball as we know it. The MLB-MiLB agreement expires soon, and there were rumblings about a desire to remove some MiLB teams back in April 2020. It’s just speculation at this point because these “partners” aren’t affiliates, but if an owner has a choice between financing a Single-A affiliate team or using a self-sustaining independent league team as part of their farm system, which one do you think they go with?

It is exciting to be able to say that there are now three Chicago baseball teams associated with MLB: the White Sox, the Cubs, and everyone’s favorite Chicago Dogs.

Sign up to receive awesome content like this right in your inbox, from On Tap Sports Net.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Schwartzy is a DILF and (participation) trophy husband. More Splenda Daddy than Sugar. I do the twitter, hit me up! @drschwa_96

1 Comment
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
1 year ago

[…] Answer: Three formerly Independent Leagues are now going to be considered MLB Partners as well as the previously affiliated Pioneer […]


Advertisement Beer and Bourbon Box 300x250

More in Chicago Dogs