Connect with us


Notre Dame Names 7 Captains for 2021 Football Season

The Fighting Irish will have four players on defense and three players on offense as team captains for this upcoming season.

Notre Dame Football Captains
Photo: Notre Dame athletics/

Notre Dame football head coach Brian Kelly named seven captains for the Fighting Irish’s 2021 season Friday afternoon.

Wide receiver Avery Davis, safety Kyle Hamilton, defensive tackle Kurt Hinish, center Jarrett Patterson, defensive end Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa, linebacker Drew White, and running back Kyren Williams will be Notre Dame captains this fall. All seven players were SWAT captains during the summer workouts.

Tagovailoa-Amosa was the lone captain not present when Kelly told the team about the news. He returned home to Hawaii following the sudden death of his father, Tuli.

It’s the third time since 2017 that Kelly has named seven captains. The Irish also had seven captains for the 2017 and 2019 seasons.

The Irish open their 2021 season Sunday, Sept. 5 at Florida State. Kickoff is set for 6:30 PM Central time at Doak Campbell Stadium. The game will air on ABC.

Sign up to receive awesome content like this right in your inbox, from On Tap Sports Net.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Brandon is a contributor for On Tap Sports Net covering the Chicago Blackhawks, Rockford IceHogs and Chicago Steel. He also covers the Blackhawks as an independent correspondent for Follow Brandon on Twitter @brandonmcain.

Click to comment
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Advertisement Beer and Bourbon Box 300x250

More in College