Connect with us


After Marian Hossa, Who’s Number Will Blackhawks Retire Next?

Which player from Chicago’s dynasty era in the 2010s will become the ninth player to have their jersey number retired by the Blackhawks?

Marian Hoss Chicago Blackhawks Retiring Number

Marian Hossa will have his No. 81 retired by the Chicago Blackhawks during the 2022-23 season, the team announced Tuesday.

The forward, who was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame last November, signed a one-day contract Thursday to retire with the Blackhawks. He won three Stanley Cup championships (2010, 2013, 2015) with Chicago before a progressive skin disorder ended his career in 2017.

Hossa will be the eighth player to have his number retired by the Blackhawks, joining goaltenders Glenn Hall (No. 1) and Tony Esposito (No. 35), defensemen Pierre Pilote and Keith Magnuson (each No. 3), and forwards Bobby Hull (No. 9), Denis Savard (No. 18), and Stan Mikita (No. 21).

The natural question after the announcement of Hossa’s No. 81 being retired was, “who’s next?”

Core Candidates

Marian Hossa is one of seven players to be part of Chicago’s championship teams in 2010, 2013 and 2015. That list includes forwards Patrick Kane (No. 88), Patrick Sharp (No. 10), Jonathan Toews (No. 19) and defensemen Niklas Hjalmarsson (No. 4), Duncan Keith (No. 2) and Brent Seabrook (No. 7).

Kane, Keith and Toews always appeared to be locks to have their respective numbers retired among the seven, while the other four seemed destined for a Ring of Honor situation. With Hossa now in the retired number category, it appears Sharp, Hjalmarsson and Seabrook will follow. However, a quick scroll on social media will show Blackhawks fans aren’t completely sold on Sharp’s candidacy like the others.

Kane and Toews are still building their resumes with the Blackhawks, while Keith is now with the Edmonton Oilers. Seabrook, who has ended his playing career because of hip injuries, is riding out the last two years of his contract with the Tampa Bay Lightning. Hjalmarsson and Sharp retired in 2020 and 2017, respectively.

The Blackhawks included Hossa and Hjalmarsson as part of their “Legacy Night” promotion this season. Hossa was originally scheduled for Nov. 9, but was postponed following an independent investigation of former forward Kyle Beach’s sexual assault allegations by then-video coach Brad Aldrich in 2010. Hjalmarsson had his Legacy Night on March 4.

It’s fair to wonder if the Blackhawks had planned to announce on those original dates that both players would have their numbers retired. If so, Hjalmarsson appears to be next in line for a jersey number retirement by the Blackhawks after Hossa. No. 4 in 2024 as a nice ring to it.

Retired Blackhawks Numbers

No. 1 – Glenn Hall (Nov. 20, 1988)

No. 3 – Pierre Pilote/Keith Magnuson (Nov. 12, 2008)

No. 9 – Bobby Hull (Dec. 18, 1983)

No. 18 – Denis Savard (March 19, 1998)

No. 21 – Stan Mikita (Oct. 19, 1980)

No. 35 – Tony Esposito (Nov. 20, 1988)

Follow On Tap Sports Net on social media!

Sign up to receive awesome content like this right in your inbox, from On Tap Sports Net.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Brandon is a contributor for On Tap Sports Net covering the Chicago Blackhawks, Rockford IceHogs and Chicago Steel. He also covers the Blackhawks as an independent correspondent for Follow Brandon on Twitter @brandonmcain.

1 Comment
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gus Nooman
Gus Nooman
2 months ago

Lets retire Gustafsson’s # (56). Hawks should release him and then retire the #. After all, no one would want to wear it after the disgrace he brought it.

Listen to Four Feathers Podcast

Four Feathers Podcast Logo

Photo: Four Feathers Podcast/On Tap Sports Net


Advertisement Beer and Bourbon Box 300x250

More in Blackhawks