Skip to main content

Jimmy Graham Named Bears' Walter Payton Man of the Year Nominee

Bears TE Jimmy Graham has been named the team's Walter Payton Man of the Year Award nominee for the second straight season.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:
Jimmy Graham Bears

Photo: AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh

After a tough loss at home to the NFC-leading Arizona Cardinals this weekend, the Chicago Bears learned that tight end Jimmy Graham is the team's Walter Payton Man of the Year nominee. This is the second straight season Graham has earned the honor.

Jimmy Graham's Impact

Graham is incredibly grateful for the nomination. He noted the connection to the great Walter Payton in his appreciation for the nomination. The veteran tight end prides himself on working with veterans in the community. Between donating tickets, flights, money, and time, the Miami product has made a substantial impact on the Chicagoland area. Although only in his second season in the Windy City, Graham's philanthropic efforts are making an impact off the field.

Every year, the NFL selects one player from each team as a nominee for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award. Only one player can win the award, but each nominee receives money toward the charity of their choice. The award is considered the most prestigious honor a player can receive in the NFL. Graham has the opportunity to become just the sixth player to win the award with the Bears. If Graham wins the award, he will become the first Bear to do so since Charles Tillman received the honor in 2013.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles