Skip to main content

2021 IIHF World Championship: Blackhawks See 9 Players Advance to Quarterfinals

Dominik Kubalik and Lukas Reichel each have scored six points to lead Chicago's contingent through the group stage.
Blackhawks IIHF World Championship

Photo: Czech Republic National Team - narodnitym/Twitter

The Chicago Blackhawks will have all nine of their affiliated players at the IIHF World Championship tournament in the quarterfinal round. Canada, the Czech Republic, Germany, Russia, Switzerland, and the United States finished in a top-four spot in their respective group to advance to the knockout round, which starts Thursday.

Forwards Dominik Kubalik (three goals, three assists) and Lukas Reichel (two goals, four assists) lead Chicago's contingent in scoring through the group stage. Forward Philipp Kurashev is second with four points (one goal, three assists), followed by defenseman Nikita Zadorov (three assists).

Forward Brandon Pirri has two goals, defenseman Nicolas Beaudin has one assist, and forward Max Shalunov scored one goal. Brandon Hagel, a forward, has yet to find the scoresheet. Goaltender Drew Commesso joined the tournament after Anthony Stolarz of the Anaheim Ducks sustained a lower-body injury.

Two quarterfinal games will see Blackhawks-affiliated players face off: Switzerland (Kurashev) vs. Germany (Reichel) and Russia (Shalunov, Zadorov) vs. Canada (Beaudin, Hagel, Pirri).

Commesso and the United States will face off against Slovakia. Commesso is Team USA's No. 3 goalie and is unlikely to play. Kubalik and the Czech Republic will meet Finland, who won the tournament in 2019.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

The Canada-Russia winner will meet the Czech Republic-Finland winner in the semifinals, while the Slovakia-U.S. winner and Germany-Switzerland winner will face off in the other semifinal.

Quarterfinal Matchups

Game 1: Kurashev (Switzerland) vs. Reichel (Germany), 8:15 AM CT

Game 2: Commesso (United States) vs. Slovakia, 8:15 AM CT

Game 3: Kubalik (Czech Republic) vs. Finland, 12:15 PM CT

Game 4: Shalunov, Zadorov (Russia) vs. Beaudin, Hagel, Pirri (Canada), 12:15 PM CT

Each game will be broadcasted on NHL Network and TSN in North America.