Skip to main content

2021 NHL Expansion Draft: Blackhawks' protection list from Kraken

Chicago exposed 13 players, most notably forwards Ryan Carpenter and Brett Connolly and defensemen Calvin de Haan and Nikita Zadorov.
Chicago Blackhawks

Riley Stillman

The Chicago Blackhawks submitted their protection list Saturday afternoon for 2021 NHL Expansion Draft.

All 11 players on the Blackhawks' protection list are not available to the Seattle Kraken, who will announce their picks from 30 other NHL teams Wednesday. The Vegas Golden Knights are exempt from the expansion draft.

The Blackhawks decided to protect seven forwards, three defensemen, and one goaltender instead of eight skaters regardless of position and one goalie. The NHL released protection lists from 30 teams Sunday. The Athletic first reported Chicago's protection list.

RELATED: Kraken 2021 NHL Expansion Draft rules

Who is Exempt from the Expansion Draft?

All players who have two or fewer years of NHL or AHL experience are exempt. This notably includes young players like Kirby Dach and Adam Boqvist. The Blackhawks did not have to protect forward Alex Nylander because he missed the entire past season due to injury. His entry-level contract with the Sabres began in 2016, but slid the first two years before Chicago acquired him.

Exempt list: Andrei Altybarmakyan, Evan Barratt, Nicolas Beaudin, Matej Chalupa, Kirby Dach, Victor Ejdsell, MacKenzie Entwistle, Jakub Galvas, Mikael Hakkarainen, Mike Hardman, Reese Johnson, Wyatt Kalynuk, Chad Krys, Dominik Kubalik, Philipp Kurashev, Ian Mitchell, Cam Morrison, Alex Nylander, Isaak Phillips, Jakub Pour, Alec Regula, Lukas Reichel, Josiah Slavin, Arvid Soderblom, Pius Suter, and Michal Teply

Exempt due to injury: Brent Seabrook, Andrew Shaw

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

Who is Protected from the Kraken?

Forwards: Henrik Borgström, Alex DeBrincat, Brandon Hagel, David Kämpf, Patrick Kane*, Dylan Strome, Jonathan Toews*

Defensemen: Caleb Jones, Connor Murphy, Riley Stillman

Goaltender: Kevin Lankinen

*Kane and Toews have no-movement clauses in their respective contracts making them automatically protected.

Who is Available for the Kraken?

Forwards: Ryan Carpenter (1 year, $1M), Brett Connolly (2 years, $3.5M), Josh Dickinson (RFA), Adam Gaudette (RFA), Vinnie Hinostroza (UFA), Brandon Pirri (UFA), John Quenneville (UFA), Zack Smith (UFA)

Defensemen: Calvin de Haan (1 year, $4.55M), Anton Lindholm (UFA), Nikita Zadorov (RFA)

Goaltenders: Collin Delia (1 year, $1M), Malcolm Subban (1 year, $850K)

Contract details via CapFriendly