Skip to main content

Blackhawks Choose Captains for 2021-22 Season

The Blackhawks have named their three captains for the season. Jonathan Toews, Patrick Kane, and Alex DeBrincat will assume the roles for 2021-22.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:
Jonathan Toews Blackhawks

Photo: Jess Stars/The Hockey Writers

The Chicago Blackhawks have opened training camp as they look toward the 2021-22 season. On Monday, after team pictures, the Blackhawks have indeed selected their captains. For the 2021-22 season, the Hawks' captains will be Jonathan Toews, Patrick Kane, and Alex DeBrincat.

Jonathan Toews will serve his 14th season as Blackhawks' captain. Toews was named captain ahead of the 2008-09 season and at the time was the third-youngest captain in NHL history. Currently, Toews is now the fifth-youngest player all-time to be named captain. Gabriel Landeskog and Connor McDavid assumed the captaincy role at a younger age after Toews.

Patrick Kane has worn the alternate captaincy at times throughout his career. After the departures of Duncan Keith and Brent Seabrook, the team's two alternate captains in recent memory, Kane will assume one of the two alternate roles.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

Due to injuries, Alex DeBrincat served as alternate captain at times at the end of the 2021 season. Now, the NHL's third-highest goal scorer from the 2021 season will serve as one of the two alternate captains for the 2021-22 campaign. It is quite an honor for DeBrincat to earn a spot given the leaders on the team such as Connor Murphy.