Skip to main content

Blackhawks' Patrick Kane Wins First ESPY Award for Best NHL Player

The Chicago forward beat out Edmonton's Connor McDavid, Toronto's Auston Matthews and Tampa Bay's Andrei Vasilevskiy for the award.
Patrick Kane Chicago Blackhawks

Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane added another trophy to his mantle Saturday night when he won his first individual ESPY Award as the Best NHL Player. The award was announced during the ESPYs Show, which was at The Rooftop at Pier 17 in New York City.

The acronym ESPY stands for Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly Award. ESPYs recognize individual and team athletic achievement and other sports-related performance during the calendar year preceding a given annual ceremony.

ESPY awards are voted on by fans.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

Kane beat out Edmonton Oilers center Connor McDavid, Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews, and Tampa Bay Lightning goaltender Andrei Vasilevskiy for the award.

McDavid won his second Hart Memorial Trophy as the NHL's Most Valuable Player via unanimous vote by the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Matthews finished second in the Hart voting, while Kane and Vasilevskiy were not finalists.

Kane led the Blackhawks with 66 points and 51 assists in 56 games this past season. He reached two career milestones during the season, scoring his 400th goal and playing in his 1,000th game. His 66 points ranked fifth in the NHL, behind McDavid (105), Edmonton's Leon Draisaitl (84), Boston Bruins' Brad Marchand (69) and Toronto's Mitch Marner (67).