Skip to main content

Blackhawks, IceHogs Alum Jan Rutta Repeats as Stanley Cup Champion

The Czech defenseman is the first former Blackhawks player to win back-to-back championships since Trevor Daley in 2017.
Jan Rutta Stanley Cup

Photo: Sportsnet

Jan Rutta is a Stanley Cup champion for a second straight year after the Tampa Bay Lightning defeated the Montreal Canadiens 1-0 in Game 5 to win the Stanley Cup on Wednesday.

The former Chicago Blackhawks and Rockford IceHogs defenseman scored three points (two goals, one assist) in 23 playoff games. He scored his goals in Game 2 of the Eastern Conference semifinal against the New York Islanders and Game 3 against Montreal. His assist came in Game 2 against the Canadiens.

Rutta is the first former Blackhawks player to win back-to-back Cup titles since Trevor Daley accomplished the feat with the Pittsburgh Penguins in 2016 and 2017.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

Rutta and the Lightning topped Montreal, which had Blackhawks alums Philipp Danault, Erik Gustafsson, and Michael Frolik. Danault scored four points in 21 playoff games, including his lone goal in Game 3 against Tampa Bay. Gustafsson had three points (one goal, two assists) in 17 playoff contests. Frolik along with IceHogs alum Laurent Dauphin did not play in the postseason.

The Lightning acquired Rutta and a 2019 seventh-round pick from the Blackhawks for defenseman Slater Koekkoek and a 2019 fifth-round pick. Chicago traded forward Dominik Kahun and the fifth-round pick to acquire defenseman Olli Maatta from Pittsburgh. Koekkoek and Maatta each only played one season with the Blackhawks. The Lightning used the pick from Chicago to select forward Mikhail Shalagin, who is playing in Russia.