Skip to main content

Marian Hossa Would Join Impressive List of Blackhawks in Hall of Fame

Marian Hossa hopes to join a long list of former Blackhawks to be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame, including five former players inducted since 2000.


Even though the Blackhawks went 49 years without hoisting the Stanley Cup, that doesn't mean they didn't have players who would go down as some of the best to ever lace up skates. Since the year 2000, five players who spent time with the Chicago Blackhawks have been inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. Marian Hossa hopes to be the next.

Chris Chelios

Chris Chelios was a member of the Chicago Blackhawks for nine seasons from 1990-1999. He quickly became a fan favorite for his rough-and-tumble play and offensive abilities as a defenseman. The Blackhawks lost in the Stanley Cup Final in 1992, but Chelios won three Stanley Cups in his career; one with the Canadiens and two with the Red Wings.

In 664 regular-season games with the Blackhawks, Chelios recorded 487 points and a staggering 1,495 penalty minutes.

Chelios was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2013.

Ed Belfour

Eddie "The Eagle" Belfour started his career with the Blackhawks and played eight seasons for the team until 1995-96. Belfour is considered to have had one of the most impressive rookie seasons by a goaltender in NHL history, as he was awarded the Calder Trophy for league's best rookie and the Vezina Trophy for the league's best goaltender. He would go on to win the Vezina again two years later.

Even though the Blackhawks never won the Stanley Cup in Belfour's tenure with the team, he reached the mountaintop in 1999 with the Dallas Stars.

Belfour finished his time in Chicago with a record of 201-138-56 with a 2.65 GAA and a .903 SV%.

Belfour was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2011.

Doug Gilmour

Even though Doug Gilmour is most remembered for his time in Toronto, he did spend two seasons with the Blackhawks from 1998-2000.

During his two seasons in Chicago, Gilmour compiled 112 points in 135 regular-season games, but the team missed the postseason in both seasons he played.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

Before his time with the Blackhawks, Gilmour won a Stanley Cup in 1989 with the Calgary Flames.

Gilmour was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2011.

Paul Coffey

During his 21-year NHL career, Paul Coffey appeared in games for nine different teams. After being part of the Edmonton Oilers' dynasty in the 1980s, Coffey bounced around the league and played just ten games for the Blackhawks during the 1998-99 season before being traded to Carolina.

Coffey had just four assists on a Blackhawks team that finished the season with a 29-41-12 record.

Coffey was inducted in the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2004.

Photo: Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images

Photo: Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images

Denis Savard

Denis Savard is one of seven former Blackhawks to have their number retired by the franchise. He is arguably one of the best Blackhawks of all time and spent nearly his entire career in Chicago.

From 1980 to his final season in the NHL in 1996-97, Savard appeared in 881 regular-season games with the Blackhawks and racked up an astounding 1,096 points.

Even though Savard could never lead the Blackhawks to the promised land, he did win the only Stanley Cup of his career in 1993 with the Montreal Canadiens.

Savard would also go on to coach the Blackhawks from 2006-2009.

Savard was inducted in the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2000.

Is Marian Hossa Next?

The Hockey Hall of Fame inductees of 2020 will be announced on Wednesday, June 24th at 3:30 PM central time. This is the first year Marian Hossa is eligible and he has a strong case to hear his name called, hoping to join the impressive group of Blackhawks already in the hall.