Skip to main content

Rockford IceHogs Name 2021-22 Opening-Night Roster

First-round picks Lukas Reichel and Nicolas Beaudin headline the Blackhawks' draft picks on Rockford's roster.
Blackhawks IceHogs


The Rockford IceHogs announced their 31-man opening-night roster for the 2021-22 AHL season Friday.

The IceHogs, the Chicago Blackhawks' AHL affiliate, have 18 forwards, nine defensemen, and four goaltenders. Rockford's roster includes 18 players from last season's team.

The team also features 10 Chicago draft picks, highlighted by rookie forward Lukas Reichel, who will make the transition from Germany to North America. Reichel is joined by defenseman Nicolas Beaudin as the only two Chicago first-round picks in Rockford. There are three other first-round selections on the IceHogs: forwards Brett Connolly (Tampa Bay, 2010) and Alexander Nylander (Buffalo, 2016) and goaltender Malcolm Subban (Boston, 2012).

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

Three other players will make the transition from Europe to North American: defenseman Jakub Galvas, forward Jakub Pour, and goaltender Arvid Soderblom. Chicago selected Galvas in the fifth round in 2017, while they signed Pour and Soderblom this offseason as undrafted free agents. Galvas played in his native Czech Republic then the past two seasons in Finland. Pour and Soderblom each played in their native countries of the Czech Republic and Sweden, respectively.

IceHogs’ 2021 Opening-Night Roster

Forwards: Andrei Altybarmakian*, Evan Barratt*, D.J. Busdeker, Brett Connolly, Carson Gicewicz, Mike Hardman, Kale Howarth, Reese Johnson, Dylan McLaughlin, Cam Morrison, Alexander Nylander, Dmitri Osipov, Jakub Pour, Lukas Reichel*, Josiah Slavin*, Michal Teply*, Chris Wilkie

Defensemen: Nicolas Beaudin*, Jakub Galvas*, Michael Krutil*, Chad Krys*, Jacob LeGuerrier, Isaak Phillips*, Alec Regula, Ryan Stanton, Cliff Watson

Goaltenders: Collin Delia, Cale Morris, Arvid Soderblom, Malcolm Subban

*Blackhawks draft pick