Skip to main content

6 Former Cubs Advance to League Championship Series in 2021 MLB Postseason

Kyle Schwarber and Jorge Soler are the only former Chicago players from the 2016 World Series team still alive in the postseason.
Kyle Schwarber Red Sox

Photo: Bob Dechiara/USA Today Sports, via Reuters

Six former Chicago Cubs advanced to the League Championship Series of the 2021 MLB postseason.

The Atlanta Braves (Joc Pederson, Jorge Soler, Jesse Chavez) defeated the Milwaukee Brewers (Colin Rea) 3-1 to make the National League Championship Series. Atlanta will face the reigning World Series champion Los Angeles Dodgers, who ousted the San Francisco Giants (Kris Bryant, Tommy La Stella), in five games.

The American League Championship Series has three former Cubs: Martin Maldonado and Brooks Raley of the Houston Astros and Kyle Schwarber of the Boston Red Sox. The Astros defeated the Chicago White Sox (Craig Kimbrel, Ryan Tepera, Billy Hamilton) in four games to make their fifth consecutive ALCS. The Red Sox upset the top-seeded Tampa Bay Rays in four games to make their second ALCS in the past four years.

Schwarber and Soler are the only former Cubs from Chicago's 2016 World Series championship team remaining in the postseason.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

Complete 2021 MLB postseason schedule


Braves: Joc Pederson, Jorge Soler, Jesse Chavez

Dodgers: None


Astros: Martin Maldondo, Brooks Raley

Red Sox: Kyle Schwarber