Skip to main content

Good as Gold: Rizzo, Baez Win Gold Glove Awards

The Cubs' first baseman and shortstop took home their fourth and first Gold Glove awards, respectively.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

On a very important day in the United States of America, the MLB decided to announce the Rawlings Gold Glove winners for the 2020 MLB season. Of the seven Cubs nominated for the award, only Anthony Rizzo and Javier Baez won the iconic hardware.

Rizzo takes home his fourth career Gold Glove award. The cornerstone of the Cubs organization since 2012 also took home a Platinum Glove back in 2016, which is awarded to the best defender in all of the NL and AL, respectively.

As for Javier Baez, this is his first Gold Glove award of his career. Baez has been nominated before, but at second base back in 2018. This was his first year Baez was nominated for the award as a shortstop.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

It is hard to think that Baez won't have at least one or two more Gold Gloves before his career is said and done.

The Cubs' seven finalists for the Gold Glove award included the two winners, Rizzo and Baez, but also included pitchers Alec Mills and Kyle Hendricks, catcher Willson Contreras, second baseman Nico Hoerner, and outfielder, and five-time Gold Glove winner, Jason Heyward.