Skip to main content

Cubs Throw First Combined No-Hitter in Franchise History vs. Dodgers

Zach Davies and Chicago's bullpen combined to toss the seventh MLB no-hitter this season.
Cubs combined no hitter

Photo: MLBStats/Twitter

Zach Davies, Ryan Tepera, Andrew Chafin, and Craig Kimbrel threw the first combined no-hitter in Chicago Cubs' history in a 4-0 win against the Los Angeles Dodgers on Thursday at Dodger Stadium.

Davies stuck out four and walked five in six innings on 94 pitches before he was pulled prior to the start of the seventh inning. Tepera and Chafin each walked one in the next two innings, respectively. Kimbrel walked Chris Taylor on four pitches to start the ninth, but rallied by striking out Cody Bellinger, Albert Pujols and pinch hitter Will Smith.

It's the seventh MLB no-hitter this season, which ties the Modern Era (since 1900) record also set in 1990, 1991, 2012 and 2015, according to

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

Javier Baez hit a solo home run in the first, and Willson Contreras blasted a two-run homer in the sixth. Jake Marisnick had an RBI single to right in the seventh.

The eight walks allowed by the Cubs are the most in a no-hitter since the Arizona Diamondbacks' Edwin Jackson in his no-hitter against the Tampa Bay Rays in 2010.

It's the 17th no-hitter in Cubs' history, and the second against the Dodgers. Jake Arrieta also threw one against the Dodgers on August 30, 2015, at Dodger Stadium. It's the first Cubs' no-hitter since Alec Mills accomplished the feat Sept. 13, 2020, against the Milwaukee Brewers.

The Cubs and Dodgers play Game 2 of their four-game series Friday, with a 9:10 PM first pitch. Arrieta is expected to start for the Cubs opposite of Tony Gonsolin.