Skip to main content

The biggest names in professional golf are heading to the Bahamas once again this winter, as Tiger Woods announced 17 of the 20 players in the field for the 2022 Hero World Challenge on Tuesday.

All 17 players are currently ranked inside the top 21 in the world, including defending champion Viktor Hovland, world No. 1 Scottie Scheffler, and past winners Jordan Spieth (2014), Hideki Matsuyama (2016), and Jon Rahm (2018).

Will Zalatoris, Cameron Young, Sungjae Im, Max Homa, and Tom Kim all will be making their debuts at Woods' winter event.

Rory McIlroy, Patrick Cantlay, and Shane Lowry were the only players from the world's top 21 that elected to skip this year's Hero World Challenge. Cameron Smith is not eligible to play after taking his talents to the controversial LIV Golf Invitational Series.

Woods will use the final three spots in the field for tournament exemptions, and there is a growing buzz about 'Big Cat' playing in his event for the first time since 2019. Woods played in three of the four majors this past season, most recently at St. Andrews for The Open in July, while still recovering from injuries caused by a single-vehicle car accident in February 2021.

Woods was unable to compete in last year's Hero World Challenge but was seen hitting balls on the range throughout the week.

Here's a full list of the 17 players announced by Tiger Woods on Tuesday:

1. Scottie Scheffler (1)

2. Xander Schauffele (5)

3. Jon Rahm (6)

4. Will Zalatoris (7)

5. Justin Thomas (8)

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

6. Collin Morikawa (9)

7. Matthew Fitzpatrick (10)

8. Viktor Hovland (11)

9. Sam Burns (12)

10. Jordan Spieth (13)

11. Tony Finau (14)

12. Cameron Young (15)

13. Billy Horschel (16)

14. Max Homa (17)

15. Hideki Matsuyama (18)

16. Sungjae Im (19)

17. Tom Kim (21)

Check out @OnTapGolf on Twitter and stay tuned here at On Tap Sports Net for further golf news throughout the year.