Skip to main content

U.S. Women's National Team Roster Set For Summer Series

The 23-player roster will be the group that plays in the Summer Series, a set of three pre-Olympics friendlies in June.

U.S. Women's National Team manager Vlatko Andonovski has selected a roster of 23 players for the upcoming Summer Series. Andonovski will not announce his Olympics squad for another month, when he will need to whittle down the roster to just 18 players and four alternates.

Red Star Representation

19 of the 23 players will represent the NWSL. The other four come from European clubs. Goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher and defender Tierna Davidson are the two Red Stars representatives on the roster.

Red Star midfielder Julie Ertz will miss out as she injured her knee on May 16th, ruling her out of all June friendlies. Forward Mallory Pugh, who has gone through her own injuries of late, will also miss out on the training camp.

Fans will see familiar faces such as Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe, while others, such as Tobin Heath and Ertz, will miss out due to injury. Heath's chances of playing in the Olympics will be re-evaluated after the Summer Series.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

The Summer Series will see the national team play Portugal (June 10), Jamaica (June 13), and Nigeria (June 16) before two more Olympics tune-ups on July 1 and 5 (opponents and venues TBD). Andonovski will most likely finalize his Olympics roster directly before those final two matches. You can see the Summer Series roster below:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Jane Campbell (Houston Dash), Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns FC), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

Alana Cook (Paris Saint-Germain, FRA), Abby Dahlkemper (Manchester City, ENG), Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars), Crystal Dunn (Portland Thorns FC), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Margaret Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns FC), Emily Sonnett (Washington Spirit)

 Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Catarina Macario (Olympique Lyonnais, FRA), Kristie Mewis (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (North Carolina Courage), Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)

Carli Lloyd (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Manchester United, ENG), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign), Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns FC), Lynn Williams (North Carolina Courage)