Skip to main content

Jiménez, Anderson, Abreu Named Silver Slugger Award Winners

A trio of White Sox players took home 2020 AL Silver Slugger Awards.
White Sox Silver Slugger Winners

Photo: John McCoy/Getty Images

The MLB announced the Silver Slugger Award winners tonight, and the Chicago White Sox were well-represented. Eloy Jiménez, José Abreu, and Tim Anderson each won the award at their respective positions in the American League.

Jiménez slashed .296/.332/.559 and clubbed 14 home runs over the shortened 2020 season. This is his first Silver Slugger Award, perhaps of many. He has put the league on notice with his immense power and authority at the plate through two big league seasons and he is only 23-years-old.

José Abreu put together an MVP-caliber season with a slash line of .317/.370/.617, 60 RBIs, and 19 HRs. He is indeed the front-runner for the American League MVP. Abreu led the White Sox to their first playoff birth since 2008, which will hopefully be the first of many in the South Siders' competitive window.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

Tim Anderson proved his 2019 batting title was no fluke and landed the American League Shortstop Silver Slugger Award. Anderson slashed .322/.357/.529 with ten homers in 2020. He has solidified himself and the face and voice of the White Sox and the team is proud to call him the best hitting shortstop in the American League.