Skip to main content

MLB to Expand Playoffs to 16 Teams in 2020

The MLB playoffs will expand from 10 to 16 teams in 2020.
MLB News

Photo: Adam Hagy/USA TODAY Sports

In some breaking news just before the MLB regular season gets underway, the MLBPA has approved an agreement to expand the playoffs for the 2020 season.

The agreement is now subject to ratification by the owners, where it should pass seeing as they proposed a similar format during negotiations earlier this year.

There is also an agreement in place regarding postseason bonus pool money.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

The agreement applies solely to the 2020 season, and 16 teams will make the playoffs compared to the old format that encompassed just ten teams. In addition to division winners, here is how teams will qualify:

Check back for more details as they become available.