Skip to main content

The White Sox Have 3 BBWAA Awards Finalists

The Baseball Writers' Association of America announced the finalists for each of baseball's major awards today and the White Sox are well-represented.
White Sox MLB Awards

Photo: Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

The Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) announced the finalists for each of baseball's major awards today and the Chicago White Sox are well-represented.

Jose Abreu

Already named the MLB Player of the Year by Sporting News, the honors just keep piling up for Jose Abreu. After a dominant season at the plate, it's no surprise that the White Sox first baseman was named a finalist for the American League MVP award.

The calls for "MVPito" have been widespread among White Sox fans for good reason. Abreu slashed .317/.370/.617, clubbed 19 home runs, logged 60 RBIs, and posted a 167 wRC+ while playing in all 60 White Sox regular-season games in 2020. He will have to beat out DJ LeMahieu of the Yankees and Jose Ramirez of the Indians in order to take home the hardware.

Luis Robert

During his first season on the South Side, Luis Robert showed flashes of his incredible ability in all facets of the game. Despite a major slump down the home stretch of the season, the BBWAA still named Robert a finalist for the American League Rookie of the Year award.

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

Robert finished the 2020 campaign with a slash line of .233/.302/.436 in addition to 11 home runs, 33 RBIs, and a wRC+ just above league average at 101. His defensive play was sound all year, however, as evidenced by his 3.4 FanGraphs defensive rating. Fellow standout centerfielder Kyle Lewis of the Mariners and righty hurler Cristian Javier of the Astros round out the group of finalists.

Rick Renteria

While he may not be with the organization anymore, 2020 White Sox skipper Rick Renteria is a finalist for the American Manager of the Year award.

Renteria's White Sox team finished with a 35-25 record, marking the organization's first winning season since 2012. The South Siders also reached the playoffs for the first time since 2008. Along with the now-former Sox skipper, Kevin Cash of the Rays and Charlie Montoyo of the Blue Jays round out the list of finalists.

Which White Sox -- current or former -- will take home awards? The winners will be announced next week on the dates outlined below, all at 5:00 PM central time on MLB Network.

  • Rookie of the Year: Monday, November 9th
  • Manager of the Year: Tuesday, November 10th
  • MVP: Thursday, November 12th