Skip to main content

Tony La Russa Becomes Second Winningest Manager in MLB History

With today's White Sox victory, manager Tony La Russa has logged 2,764 managerial wins, second most in MLB history.
La Russa

It's been more than a century since there was a change at the number two spot on the MLB's list of all-time winningest managers.

Well, that changed today. 

With his club's 3-0 victory over the Detroit Tigers this afternoon, White Sox manager Tony La Russa took sole ownership of the spot.

A Storied Career

Today's victory was number 2,764 of La Russa's storied managerial career and the one that catapulted him past Baltimore Orioles and New York Giants manager John McGraw (1899 - 1932). La Russa tied McGraw earlier in the week.

This is La Russa's 36th year as an MLB manager. He began his managerial career with these White Sox in 1979 at the age of 34. La Russa spent nine years with the club before moving over to the Oakland Athletics. He led the A's to three American League Pennants and one World Series (1989).

Scroll to continue

Recommended Articles

La Russa is best known for his time as manager of the St. Louis Cardinals. In his 16 years with the club, he boasted a .544 winning percentage and took the Red Birds to three World Series, winning two of them (2006, 2011). The Cardinals retired La Russa's number in 2012.

La Russa returned to where it all began for the 2021 season, the south side of Chicago. He has had early success with the team. His White Sox currently sit in first-place in the AL Central despite several critical early-season injuries.

Hall of Famer

La Russa has a long list of career accomplishments in addition to this one. In addition to his three World Series titles and six league titles, he is a four-time Manager of the Year winner (1983, 1988, 1992, 2002) and has won 12 division titles in total.

His career was culminated by an unanimous election to the Baseball Hall of Fame by the veteran's committee as a part of the 2014 class.

La Russa now sits firmly in second place for all-time managerial wins behind only Connie Mack, who has 3,731 wins to his name.

Congratulations to Tony La Russa on this incredible accomplishment. This is just another addition to the long list of accomplishments that make him one of the greatest managers in MLB history.